Another social networking site for me to ignore

I’ve been getting a lot of emails like this lately, sent on behalf of friends and acquaintances:

X has added you as a friend on Tagged.
Is X your friend?
Yes/No
Please respond or X may think you said no :(

Mmm … I do like a side of emotional blackmail with my spiced ham! But what is Tagged? I visited their site this morning to find out a bit more, and followed the promising ‘About us’ link:

Tagged.com is a premier social networking destination and an ideal place for advertisers to reach their target audience.

If that page is anything to go by, the advertising side is far more important than the social networking. I appreciate their honesty, but I’m just going to keep on ignoring all those emails. ‘Sign up and be advertised at’ isn’t a compelling proposition, I’m afraid. I also find the invite-your-whole-address-book (aka spam your friends) concept that seems so central to these social networks to be more than a little dubious. Even if it is profitable.

Comments

Skip to the comment form

  1. Xiangdian

    Wrote at 2007-05-17 15:31 UTC using Internet Explorer 6.0 on Windows XP:

    I received the same email recently too… before trying to find out where it comes from, I ignored it with intuition. Thanks for sharing your “rational process” so now I know why it should be really ignored!
  2. Gabe da Silveira

    Wrote at 2007-05-18 19:26 UTC using Safari 419.3 on Mac OS X:

    There’s gonna be a huge shakeout of these sites ala Bubble 2.0. I mean who has time for more than 1 or 2 social networking sites? Some of the niche sites have a good shot, but tagged.com is about as generic as they come.

Leave a comment

Please read the comment guidelines before posting. Comments are Gravatar-enabled. Your email address will not be published.

To prove that you’re human, type human in the Bot check field.

Trying to post some program output or a long code sample? Please use a paste service and link to it instead.